St Mary’s University students and alumni win at NCTJ sports journalism awards

Sports Journalism students and alumni at St Mary’s University, Twickenham have won several awards at this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards and the NCTJ Awards for Excellence.

The National Council for the Training of Journalists hosted their Annual Awards for Excellence last Friday (22nd March), where current St Mary’s student Michael Johnson won the Podcast of the Year Award for the Ealing Road Podcast, now on its 73rd episode. This is the first time a sports journalist has won an award in this category.

St Mary’s graduate Adwaidh Rajan also came Highly Commended in the student sports journalism category at the Annual Awards for Excellence.

At the British Sports Journalism Awards on Monday, St Mary’s graduate Katie Shanahan and her colleagues picked up the Television Live Event Coverage Award for ITV’s coverage of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final.

At the same event, current master’s student Laura Howard collected the Sports Journalism Academy Award, while Former graduate Adriana Wehrens was Highly Commended in the same category.

St Mary’s alumnus Ciaran Reidy was awarded Bronze in the Regional Sports Reporter of the Year category for his coverage of Newcastle United in The Chronicle.

Speaking on these achievements, Sports Journalism Course Lead at St Mary’s University Dr Daragh Minogue said, “We have seen our students and graduates win awards before, but not on this scale across so many categories. It was stunning to see so many of our graduates at the awards.”

For more information on the Sports Journalism MA course at St Mary’s University, please visit this link.